You see the car ahead of you swerve and swerve again, narrowly avoiding a collision. Then, you hear that terrifying crunch as the other car hits a telephone pole. Your heart sinks as you realize they’ve just been in an Accident Lawyer Long Beach. What do you do? What should you do if this happens to you?
How to Support a Personal Injury Claim: Learn from an Accident Lawyer Long Beach Professional
An accident lawyer in Long Beach attorney can help you with filing a claim. They can also provide you with the information you need to support this type of lawsuit.
If you have any other questions regarding auto insurance or personal injury, you’ll need to contact an accident lawyer in Long Beach professional so you can pay for medical services and receive the necessary legal help.
Check for Injuries and Get Medical Help Right Away
If you are able to do so, it is a good idea to check for injuries on yourself and anyone else involved in the accident. Get help right away. Even if you feel okay, you should visit a doctor and get an examination as quickly as possible.
An injury may emerge after the accident. Therefore, it is important that you can follow up with a doctor. If you have pre-existing medical conditions, you also want to document them. It’s important that your lawyer knows these facts so the other party does not use the data against you.
For example, you may suffer from migraines, which worsen when driving. Even if you had a headache at the time of the accident, the other party would still be at fault if you can show negligence.
You’ll need to show proof that you got treated after an accident and that you have medical records to recover the medical costs. Again, you cannot overlook the importance of seeing a medical provider when you’re involved in an accident.
File a Police Report
You should always file a police report. Never leave the scene of the accident until this is done. California Vehicle Code § 20008 requires that drivers who are involved in car crashes, where death or injuries occur, make a written report to the police department or California Highway Patrol within 24 hours of the mishap. Even if everyone seems to be physically or mentally fine, you should always file a report with the police.
The accident report will contain the names and addresses of all parties, the time, date, and location of the accident scene, and driver’s license information, including the birth date of each driver. Insurance information and an explanation of injuries and property damage are provided in the report.
Also, you are legally required, in California, to report a car accident to the DMV within 10 days of the occurrence if it resulted in an injury or property damages over $750.
You’ll need to exchange information or contact details with all the parties involved. This is especially important if you suffered injuries and a party is underinsured or uninsured. When exchanging information, you’ll need to include the following:
- Contact name and address
- Telephone number
- Driver license number
- License plate and vehicle identification number (VIN)
- Insurance details, including company name and policy number
If there are witnesses at the scene, you should also get their names and contact details. Include their relation to you.
Record and Document Everything
As soon as you can after the accident, get out your phone and record everything with your video camera or camera on your smartphone. Record the scene from every angle, including close-ups of skid marks, damage to the road, and any other details that might be relevant to your case.
If you are able to do so, take photos of the damage to your car and record your injuries.
You’ll also need to record visuals of property damage in the roadway, obstructions, or nearby signs that could be relevant to your case.
It is vital to document the scene of the accident as thoroughly as possible because the responsible parties may attempt to lie about the circumstances surrounding the accident.
Common Reasons for Car Accidents in California
The California Business Journal states that the main reasons for car accidents in California stem from impaired driving, distracted driving, and speeding. If these or other forms of negligence can be proven, you can secure damages in a personal injury case.
Examples of damages include the cost to repair or replace your vehicle, past or ongoing medical expenses, lost income, loss of employment, and burial expenses. Non-economic damages include payment for pain and suffering, emotional distress, disability, mental anguish, disfigurement, or loss of consortium or companionship and affection.
Find an Accident Lawyer Long Beach Professional to Help You with Your Claim
The sooner you can find a lawyer after an accident, the better. If you were in an accident with injuries or fatalities, you should find an attorney without delay.
Call an Accident Lawyer Long Beach Firm Now
After an accident, it is important to remain calm and collected. It is also important to call a Long Beach accident law firm about your case. Call Belal Hamideh Law today at (562) 526-1224 to discuss your personal injury claim.