If You Qualify, Your Case Can Be Worth Up to $320,000 or More
Did you or a loved one catch COVID-19 at work and have lingering issues?
Did someone you love pass away as a result of catching COVID-19 from their work?
Under Labor Code 4702 (Death Benefits), you could be eligible for compensation for up to $320,000 or more under California law depending on your circumstances.
We welcome you to call our office for a free consultation to determine if you have a case we can pursue.
If We Prove the Covid-19 Was From Work, You Can Receive Workers Comp Money and Medical Treatment
If you suffered a lingering or permanent injury from catching COVID-19 while in the course of doing your job, then, under California law, you may be eligible for workers compensation benefits.
For example, you may be eligible for medical care. You shouldn’t have to pay for necessary medical treatment as you recover from either an illness or injury that was caused just by you doing your job.
By that same token, you may qualify for temporary or even permanent disability benefits. If you can’t do your usual job while recovering (or you will never recover) then you will most likely be eligible for benefits.
In the event that you don’t recover completely, then you may qualify for supplemental job displacement benefits. This could include receiving payment for retraining or even enhancing your skills if you don’t return to work for your employer.
In the event that someone you love passed away due to COVID-19 at work, then you could be eligible for death benefits, as well. This is especially true if your loved one was a first responder, healthcare worker, or held a similar position.
Even if you aren’t sure whether or not you have a case, you have nothing to lose by reaching out to an experienced attorney.
How Do I Prove My Loved One or Myself Got Covid From Work?
If you did catch COVID-19 at work, hopefully, you were able to get through it quickly and completely, with no lasting symptoms.
Unfortunately, many others may have suffered injuries that just won’t go away or are even permanent. Should you have caught COVID-19 through just doing your work, you will most likely be eligible for compensation.
Bill SB 1159, passed in September 2020, “protects the health and safety of all employees and the public by facilitating the provision of workers’ compensation benefits.”
You could potentially be eligible for up to $320,000 and more to aid in your recovery. We’ve helped clients who suffered COVID-related injuries on the job to receive all of the compensation that they deserve.
The Senate Bill 1159 Law That Helps Us Prove You or Your Loved One Got Covid From Work
According to SB 1159, the presumption of a work-related illness “is disputable and may be controverted by other evidence.”
All this means is that if you or another employee are presumed to have gotten sick from COVID-19 at your job, the employer can dispute that. They might try to prove that, no, you didn’t get COVID-19 from work.
However, SB 1159 makes it so that the “burden of proof” is on the employer, not you.
So they have to be able to show that you didn’t get COVID-19 from your job.
Moreover, it’s important to note that you may still be eligible for workers’ compensation even if you yourself did not get COVID-19 at work.
If you can prove that you got it from coming into contact with something related to your business, or even from a co-worker at your job, then you will most likely be eligible.
There are so many different ways that you might catch COVID-19 just from going to your job.
Reach Out To Us to File a Claim – Workers Compensation Benefits
If you’re dealing with COVID-19 or have already gone through it, then it can feel like the last thing you want to do is to reach out to a law firm to file a claim.
However, it’s important to do it as soon as possible.
For one, you have roughly one year, from the time of injury or even death to file a case.
That said, if it’s been more than a year, that doesn’t mean all hope is lost.
Belal Hamideh Law and the team have had success in applying certain exceptions that can extend the timeline to file the work injury claim. That way, you don’t have to worry about losing out on compensation just because you didn’t bring a case on time.
We are always glad to talk to prospective clients to see how we can help.
To schedule a free consultation, call us at (562) 526-1224.